Ondo 2020: Akeredolu Wins APC Primary Election

Rotimi Akeredolu , the Ondo State Governor has emerged the candidate of the All Progressives Congress for the October 10 governorship election in the state.
Akeredolu was declared winner of the party’s primary election which ended around 12. 25am having won in all the local government areas of the state , defeating other seven contestants .

In the result, Akeredolu polled 2 , 458 votes , while Chief Olusola Oke came second , having scored 262 votes . Mr Isaac Kekemeke came third after polling 19 votes .
The primary of the APC was conducted with over 2 , 500 delegates from the 18 local government areas of the state who converged on the International Event Centre , Alagbaka , Akure , the state capital , to cast their votes .
No fewer than eight aspirants finally contested for the ticket of the party after three aspirants stepped down for Governor Rotimi Akeredolu .
As of Monday morning , the party had 11 aspirants jostling for the ticket .
They were Akeredolu , Chief Olusola Oke, Dr Segun Abraham, Mr Olaide Adelami and Mr Bukola Adetula.
Others were Mrs Jumoke Anifowose , Mr Sola Iji , Mr Isaac Kekemeke , Jimi Odimayo, Mr Nathaniel Adojutelegan and Mr Awodeyi Akinsehinwa
However , before the commencement of the exercise , the trio of Abraham , Odimayo and Adojutelegan withdrew from the race and declared their support for Akeredolu .

Leave a Reply