Edo 2020: INEC Releases Names of Contestants

Ahead of the September 19 Governorship Election in Edo State, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has published names of 14 individuals that are eligible to contest for the apex political post in the state.
This was contained in a publication made available to the public on Saturday by Festus Okoye Esq., INEC National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee.
The INEC official said the publication was in compliance with INEC’s Timetable and Schedule of Activities and in accordance with Section 34 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended).

Okoye added that the list of candidates is on display at the Commission’s offices in the Benin City, the Edo state capital and the 18 Local Government Areas of the State.
He further said that by Section 35 of the Electoral Act and the Timetable and Schedule of Activities of the Commission, the withdrawal and substitution of candidates for the Edo Governorship election ended on 13th July 2020.
He added that with the publication of the final list of candidates, no Political Party can withdraw or substitute any of the nominated candidates or tamper with the list and particulars of the candidates in a manner inconsistent with the intendment of the Constitution and the Electoral Act.
INEC urged Political Parties to pay close attention to the timelines stipulated in the Timetable and Schedule of Activities of the Commission as well as the provisions of the Constitution and the Electoral Act.
The Edo state 2020 Governorship election holds September 19 with Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress and incumbent Governor Godwin Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Party as top contenders

Leave a Reply